NCERT Solutions for Class 6 Geography Chapter 7 Our Country – India Social Science

In this page you will get NCERT Solutions for Class 6 Geography Chapter 7 Our Country – India can be useful in knowing latest marking scheme and prepare accordingly. Our experts have tried to make the solutions as easy as possible thus, you will not find any concept difficult to understand. These free NCERT Solutions are prepared just for you according to the latest CBSE guidelines. So, you will be able to score excellent marks in this assessment.

NCERT Solutions for Class 6 Geography Chapter 7 Our Country – India

Chapter 7 Our Country – India NCERT Solutions for Class 6 Geography

1. Answer the following questions briefly.

(a) Name the major physical divisions of India.


The major physical divisions of India are:
• The Great Himalayas or Himadri
• The Northern Great Plains
• The Coastal Plains
• The Peninsular Plains
• The Islands

(b) India shares its land boundaries with seven countries. Name them.


The countries that share land boundaries with India are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Pakistan, Nepal and Myanmar.

(c) Which two major rivers fall into the Arabian Sea?


Narmada and Tapi are the two major rivers that fall into Arabian Sea.

(d) Name the delta formed by the Ganga and the Brahmaputra.


Sundarbans delta is formed by the Ganga and the Brahmaputra.

(e) How many States and Union Territories are there in India? Which states have a common capital?


There are 29 States and 7 Union Territories in India. The states of Haryana and Punjab have a common capital – Chandigarh.

(f) Why do a large number of people live in the Northern plains?


The Northern Plains are generally flat and level land, having alluvial deposits laid down by the rivers such as the Indus, the Ganga, the Brahmaputra and their tributaries. These river plains provide fertile land for cultivation. Therefore, a large number of people live in the Northern plains.

(g) Why is Lakshadweep known as a coral island?


The coral reef on Lakshdweep island is known as the coral island because it's made up of tiny skeletons of marine animals called polyps. When living polyps die, other polyps grow on top of their hard skeletons. They grow higher and higher, forming the shape of an island.

2. Tick the correct answers.

(a) The southernmost Himalayas are known as
(i) Shiwaliks
(ii) Himadri
(iii) Himachal
Solution (i) Shiwaliks

(b) Sahyadris is also known as
(i) Aravali
(ii) Western Ghats
(iii) Himadri
Solution (ii) Western Ghats

(c) The Palk Strait lies between the countries
(i) Sri Lanka and Maldives
(ii) India and Sri Lanka
(iii) India and Maldives
Solution (ii) India and Sri Lanka

(d) The Indian islands in the Arabian Sea are known as
(i) Andaman and Nicobar Islands
(ii) Lakshadweep Islands
(iii) Maldives
Solution (ii) Lakshadweep Islands

(e) The oldest mountain range in India is the
(i) Aravali hills
(ii) Western ghats
(iii) Himalayas
Solution (i) Aravali hills

3. Fill in the blanks.

(a) India has an area of about _____.
Solution 3.28 million sq. kms.

(b) The Greater Himalayas are also known as____.
Solution Himadri

(c) The largest state in India in terms of area is_____.
Solution Rajasthan

(d) The river Narmada falls into the _____ sea.
Solution Arabian

(e) The latitude that runs almost halfway through India is ____.
Solution Tropic of Cancer

Map skills

1. On an outline map of India, mark the following.
(a) Tropic of Cancer
(b) Standard Meridian of India
(c) State in which you live
(d) Andaman Islands and Lakshadweep Islands
(e) Western Ghats and Eastern Ghats


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post